Regulations for Seismic Design - World List 2016/2020

   France [ Back to Country Index ]
Name EN 1998
Year 2010
Issued by The European standards organization
PDF file*
* already offered for previous List or newly provided for current List
About the edition Details about Eurocodes general Framework:
EN 1990 Eurocode – Basis of structural design (hereafter referred to as EC0),
EN 1991 Eurocode 1 – Actions on structures (EC1),
EN 1992 Eurocode 2 – Design of concrete structures (EC2),
EN 1993 Eurocode 3 – Design of steel structures (EC3),
EN 1994 Eurocode 4 – Design of composite steel and concrete structures
EN 1995 Eurocode 5 – Design of timber structures (EC5),
EN 1996 Eurocode 6 – Design of masonry structures (EC6),
EN 1997 Eurocode 7 – Geotechnical design (EC7), EN 1998
Eurocode 8 – Design of structures for earthquake resistance (EC8),
EN 1998-1: General rules, seismic actions and rules for buildings (EC8
Part 1),
EN 1998-2: Bridges (EC8 Part 2),
EN 1998-3: Assessment and retrofitting of buildings (EC8 Part 3),
EN 1998-4: Tanks, silos and pipelines (EC8 Part 4),
EN 1998-5: Foundations, retaining structures and geotechnical aspects
(EC8 Part 5),
EN 1998-6: Towers, masts and chimneys (EC8 Part 6),
EN 1999 Eurocode 9 – Design of aluminium structures (EC9).

All these codes contain clauses denoted as either 'Principles' or 'Application
rules'. A number of clauses allow national choice, by specifying nationally
determined parameters (NDPs).

The design of buildings in France is therefore based on the followings rules:
- NF EN 1998-1: Eurocode 8 - Design of structures for earthquake resistance
- NF EN 1998-1/NA: French National Annexes (Publication: 2013-12-20)
Language English
Distributed media paper/pdf
Free or charged No
Editorial Note